1. Down the Highway (4:30)
  2. Even the Clock (4:07)
  3. Junior’s Wailing (3:18)
  4. Junior’s Wailing (Single Version) (3:21)
  5. Lost You Too (3:27)
  6. On Your Road (2:50) She is the Fire (3:10)
  7. Twenty Four Hours (7:37)
  8. Water Pt. 1 (:51)
  9. Water Pt. 2 (1:57)
  10. When All Your Friends Are Gone (3:49)
  11. Windmill (4:30)
  12. You’ll Never Know (3:26)

Release Date: 1969

Steamhammer’s debut album based out of Worthing, England, was formative to the band’s success. The album featured two numbers that have remained the group’s trademarks throughout all musical and personnel changes: “Junior’s Wailing,” a blistering 12-bar blues number, with a basic riff recognizable from Brighton to Berlin, and the
upbeat, “When Your Friends Have Gone”.


  1. 6/8 For Amiran (3:00)
  2. Another Traveling Tune (16:07)
  3. Autumn Song (4:04)
  4. Blues for Passing People (6:26)
  5. Contemporary Chick Con Song (4:52)
  6. Down Along the Grove (0:41)
  7. Fran 8 Dee Take a Ride (3:17)
  8. Johnny Carl Morton (4:35)
  9. Passing Through (5:03)
  10. Sunset Chase (1:39)
  11. Supposed to be Free (5:50)
  12. Turn Around (3:32)

Release Date: 1969

Steamhammer’s second album produced in 1969, highlights the melodic and exciting “Supposed To Be Free,” which speaks for itself, being sandwiched between “Santana” and “Chicago” on CBS’s “Fill Your Head With Rock” album.


  1. Henry Lane (3:53)
  2. Hold that Train (5:54)
  3. I Wouldn’t Have Thought (5:40)
  4. Leader of the Ring (2:54)
  5. Levinia (3:29)
  6. Mountains (5:39)
  7. Riding on the L&N (10:11)
  8. Walkin Down the Road (3:46)

Release Date: 1970

Steamhammer’s third album, features live recordings at the Lyceum in London, spotlighting the band’s signature ‘body’ music, with “Riding On the L&N” and “Walking Down the Road”, proving the quote: “Steamhammer is one of those rare
groups who sound better live than on record.” The centerpiece of this album is a 14-minute live treatment of “Riding On the L&N/Hold That Train”.



  1. Penumbra: Entrance Battlements (22:40)
  2. Telegram (Nature’s Mischief) (11:30)

Release Date: 1972

SPEECH, the band’s fourth and final album, produced by ex-Yardbird and Renaissance frontman Keith Relf, is the first to feature bassist Louis Cennamo, and was hailed once again for its enormous “live” sound quality.



  1. Buzzard (8:16)
  2. Silver Tightrope (8:23)
  3. Paths and Planes and Future Gains (4:30)
  4. Last Stand Before (8:23)
  5. Basking in the White of the Midnight Sun (11:30)
  6. Warning Coming On (1:00)
  7. Basking in the White of the Midnight Sun (3:03)
  8. Brother Ego (5:10)
  9. Basking in the White of the Midnight Sun (2:18)

Release Date: 1975

ARMAGEDDON, recorded in England and brought back to the States, was one of the most inspired collaborations ever undertaken, bringing together four extremely talented musicians, three of which hailed from Steamhammer: Martin Pugh, Keith Relf, and Louis Cennamo, and now featuring Bobby Caldwell on drums. Liner notes describe the band’s music as, “breathtaking, intense, and highly sophisticated.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *